Day 2

Many fascinating changes occurred to me after I started to pray the rosary. Until my mid thirties, I believed that for me personally, abortion was wrong and not an option. Regarding other women, however, I was not so adamant. The Clinical Social Worker in me was tolerant of other’s viewpoints. Probably because I was not overly convicted in my heart, I never even considered speaking out about my beliefs. The amazing part about devotion to prayer, knowing the life of Jesus in the form of the rosary, is my realignment towards truth and a genuine conviction to back it up.This conviction became so clear in my heart that I knew that I knew that I knew. I was sure.

When you are sure of truth, disparity becomes unbearable; who you are on the inside has to match who you are on the outside. So over the years I have made several outward realignments. Once I even surprised myself by readily answering a Lenten call to pray with a dear friend (one of three who led me to do the initial experiment) in front of an abortion clinic. In addition, I am an avid supporter of our local pregnancy center. This leads to the reason why I am unable to pray the rosary with my family tonight.

One day out of each month I have an evening commitment at the local pregnancy center from 6:30-9pm. So yesterday the family voted. The choices were: early rosary with mom before meeting – dad prays his rosary alone or mom prays alone and dad prays with kids when he gets home at 7pm. The kids are in bed before 9pm so waiting for mom is not an option. It was unanimous, “WE PICK DAD!”

Hmmm, is this because he is the best chance of getting out of our new-found commitment? Or is the novelty of dad using the Lord’s name reverently just too intriguing?

I prayed my part. I guess I’ll find out more at 9pm.

9:30pm Dad reports that they recited the Sorrowful Mysteries along with the Mary Foundation CD and despite some wiggles from the youngest, all prayers were said and now it was time for dad to do some real relaxation…Call of Duty on XBox.bam. bam. bam.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a comment